Since ye olden days of Reed, the wooded ravine bisecting what was once Crystal Springs Farm has been a section of land of turbulent change, going from cow pasture to prospective development site to neglected wildlife refuge and eventually the urban sanctuary we know today. Since 1914, Canyon Day, known originally as Campus Day, has been an active Reed tradition, surviving through almost all of Reed’s existence. Canyon Day has always been a celebratory occasion, a day to engage the community with the grounds surrounding the college and get them involved its maintenance.
- Walk the entire canyon trail (1.5 miles)
- Find a favorite picnic table for doing homework
- Get to know one of the neighborhood dog-walkers and befriend their dog
- Eat an apple or plum from the orchard
- Spot the canyon crew symbol on benches and stairs
- Sit on the stumps at the new east end loop with friends
- Walk the canyon at dusk and try to spot a beaver
- Read a book on the island: try to not get too distracted by the cattails and ducks
- How many different ways can you use the canyon to get to class
- Play a game of chess under the blue bridge using leaves as chesspieces
- Watch bees flying into their nest in the amphitheatre
- Watch salmon spawning in the fish ladder
- Spot one of the elusive canyon cats
- Observe the tree canopy from the bouncy bridge
- Attend Canyon Day!
The blue bridge bears a rich history. this particular rendition was commissioned in 1991 as a replacement for the old and rotting bridge that preceded it. With the expansion of the Cross Canyon dorms, Reed needed a new bridge that would conform to codes for disability access and last for many years with minimal impact on the canyon.